Kookaburra Sits In The Old Gum Tree

Birds are causing a problem in my life at the moment. A baby magpie has discovered how to fly into our house. He’s making it a daily activity swooping through the open sliding doors, pooing on the clean washing and departing. Trying to remember to close the doors, but need one open for the dog. Magpie even worked out there was access via this second door and starting flying across an inner deck to make his grand entrance.

It’s like living in a Hitchcock thriller as we all screech and duck  while maggie swoops and weaves through the house.

Luckily the kookaburras haven’t yet learnt the trick.

Kookaburra photo by David Fitzpatrick

A bit peckish? Photo by David Fitzpatrick

9 thoughts on “Kookaburra Sits In The Old Gum Tree

  1. I remember learning that song – about the Kookaburra In The Gum Tree when I was in grade 5…I was very young and the words seemed to speak of a mythical creature from a distant land. Now I know what that “mythical creature” looks like! Thanks! (I’m in Canada, so to a 10-year-old, as I was at the time, Australia was a very distant land!) 🙂

    • Janice, I grew up in Canada also, and I never had any idea what a Kookaburra looked like either, but the REALLY funny thing was that I had visions of a tree laden with gumballs, because you know it was a ‘gum’ tree. 🙂

      • Yeah, I can’t remember why we learned it…perhaps it was part of a project in Geography… I thought it was a sad song, am I correct? (just going on my memory of how singing it made me feel – I do not recall the words though. I think I will do some goggle-ing!) 🙂

  2. Janine, I love those shots of the Kookaburra! I have some excellent shots of the Cockies that like to sit in our lemon tree and eat all of our lemons, but none of kookaburras.

  3. I also learned that song as a young child at Farmers Union Camps and had no idea until I met your brother what it really meant. The king of the bush being Australia’s bush country, and the gum tree being a eucalyptus (sp?) tree and that the Kookaburra really does sound like it laughs. One of the many favorite things I experienced while visiting your beautiful country!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.